Connect with us

Premier League

Newcastle united miss out on Europa League and Chelsea in Conference League after Man United win FA Cup



Newcastle united miss out on Europa League and Chelsea in Conference League after Man United win FA Cup

Manchester United will play in next season’s Europa League following their FA Cup final victory, with Chelsea dropping to the third-tier Conference League and Newcastle United missing out on European football entirely.

Manchester United’s eighth-placed Premier League finish was their lowest final top-flight league position since 1990 and insufficient to qualify for European football, but today’s 2-1 win at Wembley over Premier League champions Manchester City has ensured passage into the Europa League as FA Cup winners.

The Premier League has seven European spots for the 2024-25 season: four teams in the Champions League, two places for the Europa League and one for the Conference League.

The four Champions League sides all qualified courtesy of their Premier League finishes, with the top four comprising of title winners City, runners-up Arsenal, Liverpool in third place and Aston Villa in fourth — the latter of whom are in Europe’s premier club competition for the first time since 1982-83.

Two places are given to English sides in each season’s Europa League. One goes to the FA Cup winners, if they did not also get a top-four spot in the Premier League, and the other to the team who finish fifth.

Due to Manchester United winning the FA Cup and not finishing in the top six, they have qualified for the Europa League alongside Tottenham Hotspur, who finished fifth in the league.

Only one English team plays in the Conference League each season.

The rules state that the Carabao Cup winners are given that Conference League spot. But, in every season since Europe’s third-tier club competition started in 2021, that place has been deferred to the Premier League table because of the Carabao Cup winners also finishing in the top six, and therefore securing a spot in the Europa League or the Champions League via their league position.

Chelsea, who finished sixth in the Premier League, will play in the Conference League due to United’s FA Cup win while seventh-placed Newcastle now miss out on Europe altogether, due to the cup success by Erik ten Hag’s side

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *