Connect with us

Premier League

Premier league: Erik ten Hag names 25-man Man United Premier League squad with two superstars absent



Premier league: Erik ten Hag names 25-man Man United Premier League squad with two superstars absent

The £72m summer signing Rasmus Hojlund is not on the list but there is no cause for supporters at Old Trafford to worry

Rasmus Hojlund has not been included in Manchester United’s 25-man squad submitted to the Premier League – but there is no reason to fear.

The Danish striker, 20, made his debut off the bench in the defeat away to Arsenal prior to the international break having arrived with a back injury.

United paid £72m to sign Hojlund from Serie A side Atalanta as head coach Erik ten Hag was desperate to add a prolific No9 to his squad.

The Old Trafford club have also left Argentina starlet Alejandro Garnacho, 19, off the list for the same reason because the rules state an unlimited number of under-21 players can be registered separately.

Six of the club’s other summer signings – Mason Mount, Andre Onana, Altay Bayindir, Sergio Reguilon, Sofyan Amrabat and Jonny Evans – have been included in the 25-man list.

At least eight players must be homegrown with Mount and Evans among nine eligible who are included on that list.

Meanwhile, Dutch midfielder Donny van de Beek has been named along with Jadon Sancho, who is aiming to win over the critics after being criticised by Ten Hag for his approach to training, and Brazilian Antony, who has been granted time away from the squad owing to off-field issues.

United return to action after the international break against Brighton on Saturday afternoon but Morocco midfielder Amrabat is not expected to make his debut as he deals with a minor injury.

Mount, meanwhile, is targeting Tuesday’s Champions League group stage opener away to Bayern Munich as a return date from his hamstring injury. Luke Shaw, Raphael Varane and Lisandro Martinez are also sidelined with issues.

Manchester United’s 25-man squad
Goalkeepers: Andre Onana, Altay Bayindir, Tom Heaton*.

Defenders: Victor Lindelof, Harry Maguire *, Lisandro Martinez, Tyrell Malacia, Sergio Reguilon, Raphael Varane, Diogo Dalot, Luke Shaw*, Aaron Wan-Bissaka*, Jonny Evans*.

Midfielders: Sofyan Amrabat, Mason Mount*, Bruno Fernandes, Christian Eriksen, Casemiro, Donny van de Beek, Scott McTominay*.

Forwards: Facundo Pellistri, Anthony Martial, Marcus Rashford *, Antony, Jadon Sancho*.

Notable U21 players who don’t need to be registered: Rasmus Hojlund, Alejandro Garnacho, Kobbie Mainoo, Hannibal Mejbri, Amad, Dan Gore, Omari Forson, Shola Shoretire.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *